InstaGRIPES: 10 Things I Hate About Instagram

Posted: May 17, 2012 in Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

Instagram has become one of the most popular social networking apps in the world. What started as sort of a “members-only” photo-sharing site for people with iPhones became a whole lot more crowded with the launch of the Instagram app for Android. And with the announcement of Facebook’s purchase of the site for a whopping *in my Dr. Evil voice* one BILLION dollars, Instagram’s popularity has exploded.

For those who have no idea what Instagram is, think Twitter with pictures. If you don’t knowΒ what Twitter is, I just sent you a message on Myspace explaining it all in great detail. But I digress. For all that I love about Instagram, it certainly has its share of things I hate – 10 of them to be exact. Here they are, in no particular order.

1. People who only post pictures of themselves.

I know you think you’re beautiful, but I’m sure there is at least one other beautiful thing in your world that’s worth photographing. Mix in a few photos of something or someone else so you can at least pretend that you’re not so vain.

2. People who only post pictures of themselves…that they took themselves.

Come on now. Not only are you letting us know that you think you’re beautiful, you’re telling us that no one else does! You mean, you don’t have ONE friend that can hold the camera and snap a pic of you. Pay a complete stranger to snap a pic if you have to…we’re tired of looking at your reflection in the bathroom mirror.

3. People who follow 700 people and post zero pictures.

This is a photo sharing site. You’re supposed to SHARE…not STARE. If you’re on Instagram and you never post a pic you’re basically telling us you have stalker tendencies.

4. People who ONLY post tweegrams.

Tweegram is great, but if all you want to do is post inspirational quotes…stick to Twitter.

5. People who post pictures with no captions.

The caption is what frames the picture. We don’t know what we’re looking at if you don’t give us the context. We have no idea that random kid on the tricycle is your second cousin’s neighbor’s third child (adopted)…if you don’t tell us.

6. People who post pictures of their second cousin’s neighbor’s third child (adopted).

Enough said!

7. People who post pics of their entire wardrobe.

No one really wants to see what you’ve got on every day…unless of course you’ve got #SundaySwagger like my man, Kevin Bond (kbonded)! LOL

8. People who never like or comment on any photos.

Again, this is a site for sharing (SEE #3). Instagram is for interaction. If you see something you like, click the like button. Throw up a funny comment. Don’t just stop and stare (that’s creepy).

9. People who protect their photos.

Why come on a photo sharing site…if you don’t want to share your photos? If you only want your photos to be seen by your family members and close friends…email them!

10. People who make lists to complain about how other people use THEIR Instagram πŸ™‚

Instagram is for you to enjoy. Don’t let dopes like me tell you how to enjoy it. Have fun, post pics, make comments…or not. It’s all up to you!

Find me on Instagram at twh_phd. Feel free to comment…no staring allowed πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. Well, brother, I found the problem … People. πŸ™‚

  2. I think I agree with most every point. πŸ™‚ I’m a newbie on Instagram but loving it.

  3. Ken says:

    Pictures of the sky!

  4. April says:

    I’m guilty of #1 and #2 lol!

  5. I’m new to instagram and have the android app which apparently is not as efficient as the iPhone app… I’m learning lol

  6. […] InstaGRIPES: 10 Things I Hate About Instagram (truthwisdomhumor.wordpress.com) […]

  7. suggestion for the list: people who post pictures of food (even the sub-par hot dog they got from the meat truck).

    This is what should happen when people instagram food http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=xvvnyRAB1A4#t=04m09s

  8. So, if I initially drafted a player for $20, I can
    keep them for $25 the next season. If you are shopping for gifts, you will also need to check their return policies and make sure that you are able
    to check size charts and such to get the appropriate gifts when you
    need them. The Saints had the worst defense in NFL history last year and Ryan will bring some much-needed upgrades.

  9. wifi hack says:

    Most people have different sorts of cameras installed
    of their homes and workplaces, including CCTV cameras and cheap
    wireless IP cameras. Then all of the normal operations that transpire on a network will be available to you.
    The award-winning Eos wireless multi-room music systems are designed for people that like to listen music from their computer or i
    – Pod, but want to be freed from sitting at their computer or dragging an i – Pod dock around to
    enjoy it.

  10. magnificent points altogether, you simply won a brand new reader.

    What may you suggest in regards to your post that you just made a few days ago?
    Any certain?

  11. hair types says:

    Excellent goods from you, man. I have be aware your stuff previous to and you are simply too excellent.
    I really like what you have received right here, really like what you are saying and the
    way in which during which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and
    you continue to take care of to stay it wise. I can’t wait to learn much more from you.
    That is really a terrific web site.

  12. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see
    if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  13. Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading
    through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will
    have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  14. cukrzyca says:

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  15. I used to be suggested this web site by means of my cousin.

    I’m no longer certain whether this publish is written
    by him as nobody else know such specific approximately
    my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  16. Hi there to all, the contents present at tis web site are
    really amazing for peole experience, well, keep up the
    nice work fellows.

  17. FX Trading says:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up something new from
    right here. I did however expertise several technical
    issues using this site, since I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous
    to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads
    and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much
    more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  18. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to β€œreturn the
    favor”.I am attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use a
    few of your ideas!!

  19. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not
    very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where
    to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? With thanks

  20. Just desire to say your article is as surprising.
    The clearness on your post is simply excellent and that i can assume you are a professional on this subject.

    Well along with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to stay up to date with approaching post.
    Thank you one million and please continue the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

